Regions SA provides an integrated cross-sector, cross-government and regionally focused approach to improving economic and social outcomes for regions.

Regions SA also works to strengthen partnerships between regional communities, businesses and all tiers of government, which are necessary for the state to advance and prosper.

Our staff are a direct line and first point of contact between Regions SA and regional communities, business and industry, for the delivery of regional economic development activities such as job creation, investment attraction and improved infrastructure.

We work with regional stakeholders to inform the development of Government policy, and to promote improved regional economic and social outcomes. We work closely with local organisations such as RDAs and local councils to identify projects and initiatives and to guide them through government decision-making and grant funding processes.

Our functions cover:

  • regional policy
  • regional strategy
  • regional coordination
  • grant programs
  • projects
  • engagement and communications.

South Australian government regions

South Australian government departments and agencies use a consistent set of boundaries to define 12 administrative regions in the state. For the purpose of regional development, ‘regional South Australia’ is considered to be made up of the eight regions classified as ‘Greater Adelaide’ and ‘Country regions’.

South Australian government regions

Adelaide Hills

Barossa, Light and Lower North

Eyre and Western

Far North

Fleurieu and Kangaroo Island

Limestone Coast

Murray and Mallee

Yorke and Mid North

Regional Development South Australia (RDSA)

Regional Development South Australia plays a unique role in supporting the economic development efforts of seven regionally based RDAs and the Adelaide Metropolitan RDA.

Regional Development South Australia

General enquiries

Email address:

Page Last Reviewed: 29 Jul 2019

Latest news

View all Primary Industries News
Top of page