Alinytjara Wilurara

The region is in the far north west of South Australia and covers 26% of the State. The region includes the following lands and water;

  • Yalata (vested in the Aboriginal Lands Trust under the Aboriginal Lands Trust Act 1966);
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara (APY) Lands (vested in the Anangu Pitjantjatjara under the Pitjantjatjara Land Rights Act 1981) 
  • Maralinga Tjarutja (MT) Lands (vested in the Maralinga Tjarutja under the Maralinga Tjarutja Land Rights Act 1984)
  • Areas dedicated under the National Parks and Wildlife Act adjoining the Yalata and Maralinga Tjarutja Lands: the Unnamed Conservation Park, Tallaringa Conservation Park, Yumbarra Conservation Park, Pureba Conservation Park, the Nullarbor Regional Reserve and the Yellabinna Regional Reserve

This vast, remote and rich land is largely set aside for conservation and traditional Aboriginal use and occupation. More than half the region is held as dedicated Aboriginal lands. The region is owned or in the trust of three key land holding authorities namely

  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara or APY
  • Aboriginal Lands Trust or ALT which covers the Yalata area
  • Maralinga Tjarutja or MT.

(Source- Alinytjara Wilurara Natural Resources Mangement (NRM) Board)

Key external links for further information

 Alinytjara Wilurara NRM Board

 Bureau of Meteorology - climate data