Sharks are an important part of the South Australia’s healthy marine ecosystem.

Sharks in South Australia

Over 160 species of sharks inhabit Australian waters.

There are 5 species of shark in South Australian waters that are considered potentially dangerous:

  • white shark
  • thresher shark
  • mako shark
  • bronze whaler
  • dusky shark.

Learn about identifying sharks.

Shark sightings

Members of the public can report shark sightings:

Fishing restrictions

Learn about:

  • shark protection
  • berleying
  • gear restrictions

on the fishing restrictions for sharks page.

Page Last Reviewed: 28 Jul 2017
Top of page